A long day!

I’m barely able to keep my eyes open as I type this.

I felt relieved when I was asked to report on a lecture in the evening as I thought I would get to catch up on the sleep I lost last night staying up doing an assignment.

Well, that didn’t happen!

A friend of mine (Parth) doing a story on airport expansion asked me if I could accompany him to the airport. I didn’t want to! I wanted to sleep!

But, I gave in when he insisted, not so much because he insisted but because I thought it’d be a fun experience. I knew he knew a lot about planes. I thought I could learn something about the subject.

Well, I got to meet the director of the Airports Authority of India (AAI) who was kind enough to spare more than just a few minutes talking to us.

The director didn’t meet us as soon as we got there, though. We were made to wait around for hours.

So, I didn’t get to sleep.

I was back at the Little Mount Metro station by 2:40 p.m. I didn’t want to go home and come all the way back to the lecture. Oh, by the way, the lecture was at Madras School of Economics (MSE), Guindy.

I decided to go to my best friend’s place in Srinagar Colony to get some sleep before heading to MSE. She offered to pick me up. But, I declined and walked to her place.

Once there, we discussed random things for a while as I kept checking the time.

It was already 3:35 pm. Then, she asked me if I had had lunch. I realised I hadn’t and I was also aware I won’t get to MSE on time if I sat down to eat.

But, I ate.

She dropped me near IIT-M. I thought it was just close and as it turned out, it wasn’t close. It took me a good fifteen-minute walk. I got there at 4:16 pm. I was reminded of my professor’s tip for someone else in the morning: “Be there on time”.

Luckily, for me, the lecture didn’t start till I walked into the hall.There were just around fifteen people in the audience. I joined them and quickly opened my notepad.

That’s about today’s experience. I’m tired and sleep-deprived but somewhat glad that I did more than I thought I could, today.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

